Is There Really Gold in Ft. Knox? – The Atlantic Monthly

Standard

By Joshua Green, a senior editor of The Atlantic and a weekly political columnist for the Boston Globe

I’m quite fond of Ron Paul. I enjoyed spending time with him for this Atlantic profile. I liked learning about Austrian economics. I like the fact that he thinks differently than other Republicans and has the courage of his convictions. Washington is a more interesting place because of him. And he makes good copy. That’s especially true now that he has become, at long last, chairman of the subcommittee that oversees the Federal Reserve.

But I have to admit that even I did not foresee, and in fact never could have imagined, Paul’s latest crusade:
He’s skeptical that the United States really has the gold it claims to have in Ft. Knox. And he wants some answers!

Read more at The Atlantic…

 

